Holidays Around the World

This week, my 3rd graders started learning about Christmas and related winter holidays as they are celebrated in other cultures around the world. Every couple of days, I’ll share what countries/holidays we study and the related craft or activities. I’ll provide links to them when possible.

Monday – Kwanzaa

This was an unfamiliar celebration for my students. We practiced some basic math facts to complete a color by number math kinara from NoodlzArt on free TPT.

Tuesday – France

In addition to enjoying Little Debbie Swiss Rolls and Strawberry Rolls as edible Buche de Noel, we made ornament Yule logs! The directions came from this preschool craft blog.

Tomorrow – Mexico

I provide several books about Las Posadas and we make paper poinsettias using a craft I have in my TPT store. Each one is unique and has a 3-D shape that looks great on bulletin boards. You can find the craft that includes photo directions by clicking the picture below.

poinsettia-cover

Visit here this weekend when I share the celebrations we learned about at the end of the week!

 

Leave a Reply

