Tape Classroom Decor

Washi tape has been used in my classroom for a few years now to split whiteboard sections. I love having the variety of colors to match my theme.

Recently, I was browsing pictures on Instagram and I came across one from @lavieestbelle_23. She was using duct tape to decorate her classroom. There wasn’t a finished picture, but I thought it was worth a try. Since I’ve changed my classroom theme to purple and gold, I wanted a new bulletin board border for the hallway. Why not make it myself!

Basic and inexpensive supplies:IMG_2014

Yes, you’re looking at wax paper and decorative (duct) tape. Both of which I purchased at Dollar Tree. I also had a measuring tape, but you could easily do without it. There are so many designs for these tapes now to match almost any theme you have!

 

IMG_2015

 

Step 1: Roll out some of the wax paper. You can make the pieces of border as long or as short as you’d like.

Step 2: Adhere the tape to the wax paper. As you can see in the picture, I was able to put 5 strips on the paper.IMG_2016

 

 

Step 3: Cut the strips out. Depending on how thick your wax paper is, you could almost tear the extra paper off.

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s all there is to it. You can see it on the finished bulletin board. The design isn’t my creation – I found it on Pinterest. The background is a twin sheet from Walmart. The “grapes” are made from paper plates I got at Dollar Tree along with the green pipe cleaner vines. The leaves are made from construction paper I cut out, though I probably should have made them bigger.

IMG_2097

Leave a Reply

