T-minus 3 Weeks to BTS!

Yes, you read that right – I start school 3 weeks from today. August 4th is our first staff day and parent orientation that afternoon. Thankfully, I have access to my classroom throughout the summer. At this point I have almost everything done in my room, but I still have planning left to finish.

I thought I’d give a sneak peek at my classroom. Once I get the last details done, I’ll periscope so you can see things and be able to ask questions!

If you haven’t heard, I’m going with a purple and gold theme this year. Some of the decor is thanks to the amazing decor pack from Lindsey Nagorski. You can find it in her Teachers Pay Teachers store HERE. She also has other themed classroom decor packs.

IMG_2097

My bulletin board outside my classroom is just about finished – minus class lists on the yellow squares. Hard to see but it says A “grape” bunch of 3rd & 4th graders. The border was a project of mine using decorative tape. I’ll have another post soon detailing how I made it. The “grapes” are small paper plates from Dollar Tree. I added some construction paper leaves and vines made from twisted chenille sticks (or pipe cleaners as I still call them).

IMG_2056

This welcome pennant, from Lindsey’s pack, hangs above a couple of pocket charts by my door. The charts are used for attendance, lunch choices, classroom library check out, and new this year will be house system management!

The long whiteboard in my room has many purposes. The left area is for homework assignments. I’ve split it with purple washi tape which comes off clean at the end of the year. On the other side of the black file folder pocket chart, I post duty schedules and other important information for me.

IMG_2057

This was a chalkboard section not covered when the rest of the board was made into a whiteboard many years ago. I took dry erase contact paper and covered it. Some border and washi tape helped to section it. The labels from Lindsey’s set help to identify the subjects and grades for the things we’re studying. It may get a header at some point.

IMG_2047

The last board I had completed when I took these pictures also has many functions. At the top I’ve added the cursive letter set from the purple and gold decor pack. I have the poster you can partly see, but these were too cute not to use them!

The date pieces are hung on hook push pins with binder rings. Those date pieces came from this blog. I have a student change it each morning. The yellow and red hook push pins will hold binder rings and brag tags for each student.

There’s a couple of other things I finished, but forgot to take pictures of. I’ll make a post with those once I get them taken.

Leave a Reply

